CHA Prizes

The biennial prize is awarded to the book that offers the best exploration of Canadian business history.

The 2021 CBHA/ACHA Award for Best Book in Canadian Business History

The CBHA/ACHA, Canada’s leading organization for the study of business in Canada, offers a bi-annual prize for the Best Book in Canadian Business History, broadly defined. The prize committee encourages the submission of books from all methodological perspectives. It is particularly interested in innovative studies that have the potential to expand the boundaries of the discipline. Scholars, publishers, and other interested parties may submit nominations. Eligible books can have either a Canadian or an international focus, which includes a Canadian perspective. They must be written in English or French and be published during the two years prior to the award, that is, in 2019 and 2020.  Thanks to the generous  donation of an anonymous donor, the award includes a prize of $10,000.

Four copies of a book must accompany a nomination and be submitted to the CBHA/ACHA Prize Coordinator, Professor Dimitry Anastakis, University of Toronto, Department of History, Room 2064, 100 St. George St., Toronto, ON, M5S 3G3. Enquires and applications can also be sent to The deadline for nominations is February 28, 2021.

About the CBHA/ACHA:  Created in 2015, the CBHA/ACHA brings together academics from a wide range of disciplines, archivists and business leaders in the common pursuit of advancing the study and understanding of business history in Canada. Learn more about the CBHA/ACHA at our website,

2019 – Winner

  • Michael Stamm

    Michael Stamm, Dead Tree Media: Manufacturing the Newspaper in Twentieth-Century North America

    As winner of the $10,000 2019 Canadian Business History Association’s Best Book Prize, Michael Stamm’s wonderfully written and deeply researched Dead Tree Media: Manufacturing the Newspaper in 20th Century North America (Baltimore, MD:  Johns Hopkins University Press, 2018) reminds readers of just how culturally, socially, economically and politically important the tactile, tangible newspaper has been in North American history.  Brilliantly weaving together business practices, environmentalism, mass production, small-town existence and the relentlessness of change, Stamm’s study of a seemingly simple commodity becomes the muse for a host of important historical questions related to the rise and demise of the newsprint industry, the integration of the North American economic and cultural space, the causes and impact of deindustrialization, and the paradoxical death of newspapers in the midst of the Information Age.  Evocative of Harold Innis’s staples approach in its scale and scope, Stamm fascinatingly knits the Canadian news and newsprint story into its broader North American context, from Chicago in the age of wood to the 1911 Reciprocity Election to Baie Comeau and the Mulroney Myth to the decline of the broadsheet today.  Dead Tree Media is timely, provocative business history at its best.

Latest from Twitter

#cdnhist #twitterstorians #HistoryMatters @ideas_idees L'inscription au congrès virtuel 2021 de la Fédération des s…

View all Tweets

Contact Us

Canadian Historical Association
1912-130 Albert Street
Ottawa, ON, K1P 5G4