About

Call for Proposals - ACSUS 2021 26th Biennial Conference

Published on 8 Jul 2020

Canada: Near and Far

October 21-24, 2021
Hyatt Regency Crystal City, Washington, DC

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Association for Canadian Studies in  the United States (ACSUS), the Association will host its 26th biennial conference, October 21- 24, 2021, in Washington, DC. The conference is open to all proposals with a significant Canadian focus. We welcome papers and panel proposals from graduate students, professors, independent scholars, and practitioners on all diverse and critical perspectives related to the theme, ‘Canada: Near and Far’.

ACSUS encourages panels and papers addressing subjects in the following categories:

•     Border Issues, Integration, Trade, and Economics

•     Communication and Media Studies

•     Critical Cultural Studies

•     Energy and the Environment

•     Foreign Policy and Defense

•     Gender, Identities, Minorities, and Diversity

•     History

•     Indigenous and Settler Colonial Studies

•     International Relations

•     Law, the Constitution, and Land Claims

•     Literature, Film, Music and the Arts in  English

•     Literature, Film, Music and the Arts in  French

•     Philosophy

•     Politics and Public Policy

•     Quebec Studies and  the Francophone Presence in North America

•     Teaching of Canada and  Education Through Diverse Perspectives

•     The North and Arctic Studies Through Diverse Perspectives

•     The Role and Responsibilities of ACSUS

Canada: Near and Far. How is Canada perceived and portrayed from outside its borders, and by the international community? How is Canada understood by its expatriates?

What role does the border have in creating or working against familiarity, or belonging? How has the coronavirus pandemic shaped Canadian relationships both locally and with the rest of the world? In recognition of ACSUS’s 50 years work, what role do non- governmental agencies around the world play in shaping Canada’s relationships with the world? Finally, as a professional organization dedicated to the promotion of Canadian Studies, what is ACSUS’s role in these larger questions? Proposals that touch on these themes through diverse and critical perspectives are especially encouraged, though, as always, submissions on all subjects addressing Canada and Canadian-American relations are welcome.

In addition, it is the intention of ACSUS to implement an online access platform to our upcoming redesigned website, slated for unveiling by the end of 2020. This will allow for conference paper/panel submissions and membership registrations. In the meantime, scholars interested in submitting a proposal for the conference should forward an  abstract of not more than 300 words (including a working title), along with a brief vitae   (2 pages maximum), to the appropriate section chair(s) listed below no later than  April   1, 2021. Paper presenters must be current ACSUS members in good standing, and submissions from graduate students and exceptional undergraduates are warmly welcomed. Confirmations regarding participation at the conference will be sent out to participants by May 1, 2021.

If you have inquiries as to the most appropriate placement, kindly send your questions to the ACSUS conference program chair, Dr. Christina Keppie – christina.keppie@wwu.edu Washington DC sits on the ancestral lands of the Anacostan (Nacotchtank), Piscataway and Pamunkey peoples. ACSUS is an organization committed to the principles of equity, justice, and diversity and works to ensure meaningful inclusion.

SECTION CHAIRS:

Border Issues, Integration, Trade, and Economics

Jeffrey Ayres, Saint Michael’s College, jayres@smcvt.edu Christopher Sands, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, csands@jhu.edu 

Communication and Media Studies
Matthew Smith, SUNY Plattsburgh, smithmi@plattsburgh.edu 

Critical Cultural Studies
Scott Piroth, Bowling Green State University, spiroth@bgsu.edu 

Energy and the Environment
Sari Graben, Ryerson University, sgraben@ryerson.ca 

David Yerger, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, yerger@iup.edu 

Foreign Policy and Defense
Stéphane Roussel, École nationale d'administration publique, Stephane.Roussel@enap.ca 

Gender, Identities, Minorities, and Diversity
Shannon Risk, Niagara University, srisk@niagara.edu 

Stefano Tijerina, University of Maine, Stefano.tijerina@maine.edu 

History
Keith Carlson, University of the Fraser Valley, keith.carlson@ufv.ca Neil Forkey, St. Lawrence University, nforkey@stlawu.edu 

Michel Hogue, Carleton University, michelhogue@cunet.carleton.ca 

Indigenous and Settler Colonial Studies
Natalie Baloy, Western Washington University, natalie.baloy@wwu.edu David Hugill, Carleton University, david.hugill@carleton.ca 

International Relations
Christopher Kirkey, SUNY Plattsburgh, canada@plattsburgh.edu 

Law, the Constitution, and Land Claims
Stephanie Ben-Ishai, Osgoode Hall Law School, sben-ishai@osgoode.yorku.ca James McHugh, University of Akron, mchugh@uakron.edu 

Gabrielle Slowey, York University, gaslowey@york.ca 

Literature, Film, Music and the Arts in English
Marcia Ostashewski, Cape Breton University, marcia.ostashewski@gmail.com 

Matthew Smith, SUNY Plattsburgh, smithmi@plattsburgh.edu 

Literature, Film, Music and the Arts in French
Julie-Françoise Tolliver, University of Houston, jftolliv@central.uh.edu 

Antoinette Williams-Tutt, Southern Methodist University, awilliamstutt@smu.edu 

Philosophy
Janet Wesselius, University of Alberta, jcw3@ualberta.ca 

Joan Whitman Hoff, Lockhaven University, JHoff@lockhaven.edu 

Politics and Public Policy
Alexandre Couture Gagnon, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, alexandre.couturegagnon@utrgv.edu 

Munroe Eagles, SUNY Buffalo eagles@buffalo.edu 

Quebec Studies and the French Presence in North America
Christina Keppie, Western Washington University, christina.keppie@wwu.edu Frédéric Rondeau, University of Maine, frederic.rondeau@maine.edu 

Teaching of Canada and Education Through Diverse Perspectives
Amy Sotherden, SUNY Plattsburgh, sotheral@plattsburgh.edu 

Kyla Sweet, Western Washington University, kyla.sweet@wwu.edu 

The North and Arctic Studies Through Diverse Perspectives
Patricia Johnston, University of Washington, patriciajohnston@live.ca Heather Nicol, Trent University, heathernicol@trentu.ca 

The Role and Responsibilities of ACSUS
Christina Keppie, Western Washington University, christina.keppie@wwu.edu 

Related Articles

Engaged | Engagés - A CHA Webinar Series: Indigenizing the Teaching of North American History

Engaged | Engagés - A CHA Webinar Series: Indigenizing the Teaching of North American History

In light of the cancellation of Congress 2020, the CHA has organised a series of webinars to provide a virtual discussion forum for historians until they have the opportunity...

A CHA Series (Zoom) Inspired by the Precarious Historical Instructors' Manifesto

A CHA Series (Zoom) Inspired by the Precarious Historical Instructors' Manifesto

In response to the Precarious Historical Instructors’ Manifesto, the CHA is organizing a series of webinars to discuss issues related to historians in precarious...

Latest from Twitter

#cdnhist #twitterstorians #HistoryMatters Il existe de nombreuses possibilités d'enseigner l'histoire au Canada. V… https://t.co/e0xcuWu7qI

View all Tweets

Contact Us

Canadian Historical Association
1912-130 Albert Street
Ottawa, ON, K1P 5G4