CHA's 2022 Wallace K. Ferguson and Scholarly Book prize in Canadian History Shortlists

Published on April 7, 2022

The CHA would like to congratulate the authors whose books have been shortlisted for this year's prizes. The winners will be announced at the prize ceremonies that will be held during the CHA Annual Meeting on 18 May.

Best Scholarly Book in Canadian History

Pierre AnctilAntijudaïsme et influence nazie au Québec:  cas du journal L'Action catholique (1931-1939), Les Presses De L'Université De Montréal, 2021 

Benjamin HoyA Line of Blood and Dirt: Creating the Canada-United States Border across Indigenous Lands (Oxford University Press, 2021 

Catherine Larochelle, L'école du racisme: La construction de l’altérité à l’école québécoise (1830-1915 ), Les Presses De L'Université De Montréal, 2021 

Martin Pâquet et Stéphane SavardBrève histoire de la Révolution tranquille.  Boréal, 2021. 

Allyson StevensonIntimate Integration: A History of the Sixties Scoop and the colonization of Indigenous Kinship, University of Toronto Press, 2021. 

To see past winners of the prize, go to 

Wallace K. Ferguson 

Catherine L. EvansUnsound Empire: Civilization and Madness in Late-Victorian Law (Yale UP, 2021).  

Yunxiang GaoArise Africa, Roar China: Black and Chinese Citizens of the World in the Twentieth Century (U of North Carolina Press, 2021).  

Jocelyn HendricksonLeaving Iberia: Islamic Law and Christian Conquest in North West Africa (Harvard UP, 2021).  

Paul KelloggTruth Behind Bars: Reflections on the Fate of the Russian Revolution (Athabasca UP, 2021). 

Royden LoewenMennonite Farmers. A Global History of Place and Sustainability (Johns Hopkins UP/ U. of Manitoba Press, 2021) 

To see past winners of the prize, go to 

Related Articles

Congratulations to the 2022 Prize Winners!

Congratulations to the 2022 Prize Winners!

CANADIAN HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION PRIZES John Bullen Prize (The John Bullen Prize honours the outstanding Ph.D. thesis on a historical topic submitted in a Canadian university...

The David Alexander Prize 2022 ($400)

The David Alexander Prize 2022 ($400)

The David Alexander Prize is awarded annually for the best essay on the history of Atlantic Canada written in a course by an undergraduate student in any university. The...

Latest from Twitter

#cdnhist #twitterstorians #HistoryMatters #historiens Félicitations aux des prix 2022 !…

View all Tweets

Contact Us

Canadian Historical Association
1912-130 Albert Street
Ottawa, ON, K1P 5G4