logo headerx1
cha mono

Historians’ Corner – August 2023

HC header



UAlberta HRC Logo
Two of our faculty members in History, Profs Sarah Carter and Beverly Lemire, were among the 85 distinguished Canadians recently appointed to the Order of Canada. Their appointment was announced by Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor-General of Canada, on June 30, 2023. 

Dr. Carter was honored for “her pioneering work on Indigenous history and women’s history in Western Canada, as a distinguished scholar, professor and mentor.”

Dr. Lemire citation was for “her significant contributions to the study of material culture, notably through her seminal scholarship on the history of textiles.”

Our department members are proud of them, of course, but we think every historian in Canada can also be encouraged and proud to see two eminent practitioners of transformative historical scholarship receiving public acclaim.

Mount Allison

The Centre for Canadian Studies at Mount Allison University is happy to welcome Dr. Courtney Mrazek as W.P. Bell Postdoctoral Fellow. Dr. Mrazek is an expert on the colonial dynamics of Canadian medical history. She earned her Ph.D. from the University of New Brunswick in 2022. Her doctoral dissertation on eugenic economics in 20th-century Nova Scotia won two different national awards. She was most recently an Associated Medical Services History of Medicine and Healthcare Postdoctoral Fellow at Saint Mary’s University in the history department. Her current research connects gender, Indigeneity, colonialism, and public health histories with a specific focus on Atlantic Canada. She is also a committed and passionate educator. The Centre is excited she has chosen to spend the next two years at Mount Allison.



Pelvic Health and Public Health in Twentieth Century Canada (PH | PH) Postdoctoral Research Fellowship. Informal inquiries can also be directed via email to whitney.wood@viu.ca. Review of applications will commence September 15, 2023.


Cape Breton University

Brian Douglas Tennyson reports that he has (finally) retired after fifty-seven years from Cape Breton University in May 2023. Having earned Honours BA and MA degrees from the University of Toronto, he went on to obtain his PhD from the Institute of Commonwealth Studies at the University of London. He began teaching at the Sydney campus of St Francis Xavier University and contributed to its growth into the second largest university in Nova Scotia. He has published sixteen books–one currently being published–mainly focused on Canada’s involvement in the First World but he was also a pioneer in the emergence of Cape Breton history. He was also for several years the director of the university’s Centre for International Studies, which promoted internationalization through the community awareness programs, the creation of student exchange programs, the recruitment of international students and the management of international development projects in cooperation with CIDA. He received the President’s common purposes award, the Alumni Association’s Excellence in Teaching Award, and has been listed in Who’s Who for several years and wishes he could do it all over again.


Guelph 2


Dr. Ben Bradley joined the University of Guelph’s History Department on July 1 as a new Assistant Professor of Canadian and Public History.



ACNZ Studies Logo

The Donna Coates Book Prize (named after a leading scholar of Australian, Canadian, and Aotearoa New Zealand Studies) is usually awarded annually to a monograph published by an Early Career Researcher (someone who is within eight years of being awarded their Ph.D. or six years from their first academic appointment) and/or someone who has published their first book which also looks at least two countries of the focus of the network, i.e. Australia and Canada or Canada and Aotearoa New Zealand etc., and is published in the year in which the prize is promoted, so for this year’s prize, 2022. The prize is open to all disciplines. Unlike many existing book prizes, submissions are not confined to permanent residents or citizens of the three countries. The prize is open to anyone in the world.

An international adjudication committee will decide which book the prize will be awarded to. Winners of the prize will receive GBP150, have their book featured on the ACNZSN website, included in the ACNZSN fortnightly newsletter, and promoted on social media, specifically Facebook and Twitter.

Submissions for the prize should include three hardcopies of your book (electronic copies will be accepted if this is not possible) and a cover letter which includes your contact details and institutional affiliation if any, and a short two page CV. Cover letters and CVs should be sent to: acnzsn@gmail.com. Please also ask the publisher of your book to request the addresses to which hardcopies of the book should be sent at this email address too.

Any questions or queries about the prize should be sent to Dr. Jatinder Mann at the above email address as well. Deadline: 31 December 2023. Announcement of winner by: 30 June 2024.


CHA logo Vertical

2024 CHA Annual Meeting (17-19 June)

The CHA conference theme for 2024 is the Climate of History. The theme comes from Dipesh Chakrabarty’s observation that anthropogenic climate change has conjoined human history with the deep histories of the planet and its lifeforms and has made necessary the production of histories that cross and combine these pasts with their own distinct timescales and speeds of change. At the same time, we find ourselves living within a political climate in which historical knowledge has become an object of fierce struggle. Changing climates – arising with social and political contestations, and new technologies and institutional configurations – inform the questions we ask and how we come to be aware, engage, and tell particular understandings of the past. We invite submissions that reflect on this broadly defined theme and any other proposal related to the research, teaching, or presentation of history. Bilingual and full-panel submissions (typically of 3 or 4 papers) are specially welcomed.

  • Number of submissions: Individuals can only submit one abstract for the CHA meeting (i.e. either an abstract for an individual paper or an abstract as part of a session proposal.)
  • Session proposals should include the completed form (with the presenters’ names and contact information as well as the name and contact of the session organizer, and a list of keywords) as well as the sessions title, paper titles, and brief abstracts (250 words) for each paper.
  • Individual paper submissions should include the completed form (with the author’s name, contact information and list of keywords) as well as a title and a brief abstract (250 words).

You do not have to be a member to submit a proposal. However, should your proposal be accepted, please note that all participants at the annual meeting must be members of the CHA.

Click on the link to submit your proposal https://am-ra.cha-shc.ca/.

Deadline to submit a proposal: 1 October 2023

Elsbeth Heaman and Don Nerbas
Co-Chairs of the 2024 annual meeting.
Email: cha-shc2024@mcgill.ca



Barry Book CrackingTheNaziCode


Barry Cahill, The Many Lives of William Lyon Mackenzie King. Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2023.

Jason Bell, Cracking the Nazi Code: The Untold Story of Canada’s Greatest Spy. Harper Collins, 2023.